Attention there are new requirements for the Scholarships to be awarded

Four year scholarships of Two Thousand Dollars ($2,000.00) per year will be awarded to deserving Texas Students. To be eligible a student must meet the following requirements:

  1. Applicant must be a Texas resident.
  2. New - The applicant must have shot ATA registered targets for the last 3 years with a minimum of 1,000 targets shot. At least 500 of the 1,000 required must be ATA registered targets. The remainder may be 4-H targets shot at District or State shoots.
  3. Applicant must have at least “B” Average overall in high school.
  4. Applicant must have at least a “B” Average in citizenship.
  5. Applicant must submit to the selection committee at least three (3) letters of recommendation from teachers, principal, or other community leaders, one of which must be an active TTA shooter, who is familiar with the financial circumstance of the applicant.
  6. Applicant must submit a resume of his or her qualifications on or before June 15 to be considered for the subsequent fall semester.
  7. Applicants may be requested to meet with the trustees for a personal interview.

The recipient of each scholarship must meet the following requirements to continue receiving the scholarship.

  1. Recipient must carry a minimum of twelve (12) hours per semester.
  2. Recipient must maintain a minimum of 2.5 overall grade point average.
  3. New - The recipient must shoot at least 500 ATA registered targets each year.
  4. Recipient must submit a copy of his or her grades each semester to the chairman of the selection committee. Selection of the recipient of this scholarship will not be based on the applicant’s ability to shoot, but consideration may be given to the applicant's ability to meet financial obligations incurred in obtaining a college education. Funds will be disbursed to each recipient prior to the start of each semester. There will be a maximum of four (4) recipients in the program at any time. The Trustees of the Scholarship program may select 2 recipients at any time at their discretion, and may select alternate candidates to be recipients in the case of a student becoming ineligible at a later time. All money from the Scholarship Lewis and Memorials are to be mailed to Jerry O'Connor at the address below. Your Board of Directors, in hopes of promoting the future of trapshooting through the education of our young shooters, urges you to participate in the purse and help ensure the continuation of the sport we all love.

For further info:
Jerry O’Connor
907 S Main St.
Hereford, TX 79045
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Applications must be mailed to Jerry at the above address and to all other trustee at the addresses below:

Richard Leos - 11349 James Grant, El Paso, TX 79936
Mike Turner - 1017 Hodgins Rd., Van Alstyne TX 75495
Billy Hopson - 451 CR 242, Gatesville, TX 76528
Jeff Webb - 4114 E FM 120, Denison, TX 75021

Texas Trap Association Officers

Stwvwn Bradbury - Texas Trap Association PresidentSteven Bradbury President
Drew FrymanDrew Fryman 1st Vice President
JJ CaswellJJ Caswell 2nd Vice President
Billy HopsonATA Delegate
Ron CunningRon Cunning
1st Alternate Delegate
Ronny BeardRonnie Beard 2nd Alternate Delegate
dieter beckerRandall Boeding Secretary
dieter beckerDieter Becker Treasurer